↓↘→ PPP

HB pencil, plain white printer paper, and some faces.

It’s been a very VERY long time since I’ve exercised my creative mind. We all get in to our slumps now and then, but I was able to find the slumpiest of slumps. Some times shit happens and inspiration strikes out of no where. I decided to pick up a pencil, find some paper, and put myself back to work.

To help stir up some old coagulated juices in me I decide to start drawing again. Since it’s been so long I wanted to go right back to the very primordial ooze of art, all the way back to when kids really learn to draw… in math class, with any scraps of paper and an HB pencil. Nothing fancy, no tricks.

This is great, I hadn’t had the drive to draw in what seems to be years (and it very well might be), but the question is… what the hell do I draw? I’ve always enjoyed drawing people, but now the question is who do I draw? I thought about drawing celebrities, but I’ve seen a lot of my more artistically talented friends post some already amazing renditions of the famous. Then I thought about back when I was in the Art Institute, one of my favorite things to do was when my friends and I would just draw each other for fun, or for practice. Although it might seem a bit awkward, I figured screw it, I’m going to just go ahead and draw some of my friends with out them knowing. Besides, being slightly awkward and strange is a part of who I am pokadot kazoo. (If I’m drawing you, I’m probably familiar enough with you to do so. So don’t get too creeped out).

These drawings are more characatures than portraits, so they’re a little stylized and their not intended to be replicas of the original photo. I just find it more fun to draw.

So here is a couple of scribbles I did. A bit slow going, probably a billion technical problems, might not even look like the intended person! But what odds, it’s practice and I need it.

There you have it. Some lines on paper. The ultimate goal is to have at least ten done of an assortment of random friends, that way I can update my portfolio at the very least. So expect more updates of a similar variety.

If you recognize your self here and don’t want it posted publicly or for any other reason at all, please feel free to contact me and I’ll take it down immediately, no hard feelings, I won’t even question it. Since these are drawings of my friends, you’ll know where to find me :)

6 responses

  1. Great drawings, man. I like the sprinkling of Skyrim thrown in.

    I like your writing style, too–witty and fresh!

    January 25, 2012 at 7:43 am

    • hey thanks buddy! when you say witty and fresh you really mean casual and poorly spelled right? haha

      January 25, 2012 at 7:07 pm

      • Nope, I think it’s clever and original!

        January 28, 2012 at 6:54 am

      • well i appreciate it very much :D

        January 28, 2012 at 9:21 am

  2. Lora

    Amazing drawing of Steph!

    January 6, 2012 at 1:12 pm

Leave a Reply

